Monday’s Music Box: SHAKER, PAXARIÑO – Improvisacion con Kanun y Ney

Something a little different from Mr. Paxariño, for Lynn.

Also for Alice, because her son, I believe, plays the Ney.  Not your ordinary flute!

There are about six recording of these two gentlemen together from two different performances, both on Espacio Ronda.

I watch these performances over and over and over again and I never tire of them.  Simply stunning work.

The instrument that Mr. Shaker is playing is called variously “kanun”, “qanoun” or “qanun”, a type of zither played throughout the Middle East, Central Asia, southeastern Europe and eastern North Africa.

I debated about which of these performances to share first and opted for this one because it gives a great view of the mechanism of the kanun.  It is a fascinating and mind-boggling instrument which you can read more about it here…..which led me down a rather ridiculous series of rabbit-holes into the stupefying world of Arabic music theory.

I will likely share another of their performances next week….

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Box: SHAKER, PAXARIÑO – Improvisacion con Kanun y Ney

  1. This is fabulous music.Thanks.

    Ah. The Ney. Yes. My son plays a bit. The ney is a most mysterious and entrancing instrument. The mouth is somehow the reed. The musician is the instrument. A great ney player can play a rolled tube of paper.I could never get a peep out of it.

  2. I can believe Alice about the difficulty. I played the western flute in younger years, and would pick up any flute-like instrument to try, but some are really tough to get sound from. It’s very breathy, which you like or you don’t. This could be good music to make art to, leading you like a will-o-the-wisp.
    In Canyon de Chelly this fall I heard a young Navajo man playing his wooden flute deep in an echo-y place – the way that flute was meant to be heard maybe. Yes, he was standing in front of a table of his CD’s, but hey, I hope he’s making a living. I was glad to support him!
    I wonder what it would be like to hear the ney and kanun in their native outdoor habitat.
    Thank you for the mention – so kind! 😉 Have a good weekend – we’re dancing here now!

Leave a Reply

