Alan Watts

When I was younger, I devoured every thing he wrote.

Dieu’s latest post got me thinking.

I’ve been revisiting his books and thinking a lot lately about how much this man’s thought has informed my own.

“In looking out upon the world, we forget that the world is looking at itself.”

 

“The source of all light is in the eye.”

 

“You are a function of what the whole universe is doing in the same way that a wave is a function of what the whole ocean is doing.”

 

Thanks Dieu–

 

 

7 thoughts on “Alan Watts

      • Aha, I think I do. I wonder if people wonder why I call it that. It is a play on words with “Dieu” and “dew”. Also my name is really Dieu (it means something like goodness in Vietnamese). My parents would not be so egotistical to name me God if they knew its meaning in French!

        • Aha back atcha! I totally get that play! I was thinking of a quote from Dogen about seeing the universe in a drop of dew…on the grass. Have to see if I can dig it up. Really interesting about your name as well–A lot of what Watts speaks of is how we really ARE god…or God…or….mind…universe…consciousness…and then he sometimes gets a little hippy….

Leave a Reply

